top of page

Pay What You Can
(PWYT)

ordination-ngakpa-1-effets.png
PWYC, which stands for "Pay What You Can".

In my opinion, the Pay What You Can approach is completely in line with Buddhist thought.

Indeed, the Buddha did not say "give me this price and I will teach you", but received offerings in terms of places to sleep or food, traveling for 35 years, delivering the teachings along the way.

 

It offers several advantages :

. appreciation: we are invited, when engaging in a "free participation" payment, to reflect on the value of what we are receiving. What benefits will I receive from listening to and following this practice or teaching? What importance can this teaching or practice have in my life? What changes can this teaching or practice generate in my life path? From this reflection, you will be able to evaluate your motivation, in relation to the chance to receive this teaching or practice.

. generosity and solidarity: once the value of the teaching or practice has been estimated, we are invited to reflect on our capacity to give. Can we afford to offer more and thus practice generosity? Generosity in the sense that by paying more than someone else, we can allow someone else who does not have the same financial capacity to also benefit from the same teaching or practice.

. the provision of the teaching: we are aware that the teacher has his expenses to pay (room rental + transport to come to the place of the teaching + accommodation + 47% of the revenue paid to the government (yes...! as much...)). If the value of the whole is correctly estimated, and that the approach allows at least to pay all the expenses (for a personal income, we will see later), then the teacher will be able to renew the teachings over the months.

 

In 2019, I took my ordination as a Nagkmo (Ngakpa for men). This is the White Robe Sangha, created by Guru Padmasambhava. The taking of vows is similar to that of the monks, except that we have long hair, and above all, we live normal lives with families, a job, etc... We are not in a monastery and we have to manage the household finances while delivering the teaching. Traditionally, the Ngakpas lived on offerings, supported by the villagers of the villages they lived in if they were sedentary, or of the donations from the villagers of the villages they passed through if they were nomadic. I think that Pay What You Can concept is a way to get closer to the original approach. This way, i can develop no expectation, no aversion and transform money into energy.

Personally, I don't like having to charge, to decide of a price. Teaching under the umbrella of Buddhism and Tibetan Medicine is for me a passion, an inner need. I am happy when I teach. I fade away when I am away from teaching. I love to carry my students, to know that they too, over the years, manage to find this space of inner freedom, this wealth of peace from inner silence, and that thanks to this, they discover the strength and happiness to face the problems and jolts of life with an unshakeable power and confidence, a light acceptance.

Buddhism has saved me, so to guide others in this path, in this way that has done me so much good, is for me a duty. When I teach, I always learn more, when I teach, it is a bit like "listening to the teaching that my mouth delivers".  Teaching feeds me.

 

In the past, there have been times when I could not receive instruction because I could not afford a retreat or travel. These were difficult times, unfair to me, so I hope that establishing Conscious Participation will allow everyone to be able to receive the teaching. Some people will give less than the real value of the costs involved in organizing the course, others will give more, everyone will be able to participate, so let's hope that this way of working will allow me to continue to move in this direction for the benefit of all.

 

I am therefore opening this new mode of operation from 2022, in a progressive way on all the activities except those for which the selling prices are imposed on me as it is the case for the teachers' training and we will see if i allows me to keep going this way.

 

See you soon,

Valérie

--> Teacher training is given from 1 person upward. Kathy is in Lu Jong 1 teacher training ending in July. Aurore and Mickael are in training until January. It is possible to join or start a new training course from 1 person, Info here.
--> Johnathan returns to do the last course of Tog Chöd training in Chamonix at the end of June 2024. Venerable Oser is starting the Tog Chöd teacher training with the first face-to-face course in June in Chamonix and is already getting the hang of it with the theory through access to the online extranet. You can still join this training. The next training of Top Chod will perhaps start in June 2027 (or perhaps 2025 or 2026), to be continued...

--> A Tog ChOd discovery weekend is offered to everyone at the end of June! Info here

-->  We will be in Thailand in May and June and can offer discovery sessions or modules B of Lu Jong and Tog Chöd teacher training in French and English: in Chamonix from the end of June to the end of September, in Tenerife in October, in Nepal at the beginning of November 2024, in Thailand in November and December, and on Reunion Island in January 2025. And last minute... the Kora Kailash trip will take place in mid 2026 (the previous one was in 2018.. .), but will be reserved for former students or former participants of at least one trip with us! so if you would like to organize a retreat or training at these locations, contact us!

bottom of page

top of page

La Participation Consciente

ordination-ngakpa-1-effets.png

La Participation Consciente correspond au PWYC, en anglais, lequel signifie "Pay What You Can", qui traduit en français donne : "Paye ce que tu Peux".

La démarche de la Participation Conscience va en mon sens complètement en adéquation avec la pensée bouddhiste.

En effet, le Bouddha ne disait pas "donnez moi tant et je vous enseigne", mais recevait les offrandes de lieux pour dormir ou de nourriture, voyageant durant 35 années en délivrant les enseignements au fil du chemin.

Elle offre en effet plusieurs avantages  :

. l'appréciation : nous sommes invités, lors d'un paiement en "participation libre", à réfléchir à la valeur de ce que nous recevons. Quels bénéfices vais-je recevoir à écouter et suivre telle pratique ou enseignement ? Quelle importance cet enseignement ou pratique peut prendre dans ma vie ? Quels changements est-ce que cet enseignement ou cette pratique peut générer dans mon chemin de vie ? A partir de cette réflexion, vous serez à même d'évaluer votre motivation, en rapport avec la chance de pouvoir recevoir cet enseignement ou pratique.

. la générosité et la solidarité: une fois la valeur de l'enseignement ou de la pratique estimée, nous sommes invités à réfléchir sur notre capacité de don. Avons-nous les moyens d'offrir plus et ainsi pratiquer la générosité ? Générosité dans le sens où en payant plus qu'un autre, nous pouvons ainsi permettre à un autre qui lui n'a pas la même capacité financière de pouvoir bénéficier également du même enseignement ou de la même pratique.

. la mise à disposition de l'enseignement : nous sommes conscients que l'enseignant a ses charges à payer (location de salle + transports pour venir sur Paris + hébergement + 47% des recettes reversées à l'état (hé oui...! autant..)). Si la valeur de l'ensemble est correctement estimée, et que la démarche permette au moins de quoi payer toutes les charges (pour un revenu personnel, on verra plus tard), alors l'enseignant sera en mesure de reconduire les enseignements au fil des mois.

 

 

En 2019, j'ai pris mon ordination en tant que Nagkmo (Ngakpa pour les hommes). C'est la Sangha des robes blanches, créée par Guru Padmasambhava. La prise de voeux est similaire à celle des moines, sauf que nous avons les cheveux longs, et surtout, nous vivons des vies normales avec des familles, un travail, etc... Nous ne sommes pas dans un monastère et nous devons gérer les finances du foyer tout en délivrant l'enseignement. Traditionnellement, les Ngakpas vivaient d'offrandes, soutenus par les villageois des villages dans lesquels ils vivaient si ils étaient sédentaires, ou des villages traversés si ils étaient nomades. Je pense que la participation consciente est une manière de se rapprocher de la démarche d'origine.

De plus, je n'aime pas avoir à facturer, à fixer un prix. Enseigner sous la tutelle du Bouddhisme et de la Médecine tibétaine est pour moi une passion, un besoin intérieur. Je suis heureuse quand j'enseigne. Je m'éteins quand je m'éloigne de l'enseignement. J'aime porter mes élèves, savoir que eux aussi, au fil des années, parviennent à trouver cet espace de liberté intérieure, cette richesse de paix issue du silence intérieur, et que grâce à cela, ils découvrent la force et le bonheur de pouvoir faire face aux problèmes et soubresauts de la vie avec une puissance et une confiance inébranlables, une acceptation légère.

Le Bouddhisme m'a sauvé, aussi guider les autres dans ce chemin, dans cette voie qui m'a fait tant de bien est pour moi un devoir. Quand j'enseigne, j'apprend toujours plus, quand j'enseigne, c'est un peu comme si "j'écoutais l'enseignement que ma bouche délivre".  Enseigner me nourrit intérieurement.

Par le passé, il m'est arrivé de ne pas pouvoir recevoir d'enseignement car je n'avais pas les moyens de payer une retraite ou de me déplacer. Ce fût des moments difficiles, injustes à mes yeux, aussi j'espère que le fait d'établir la Participation Consciente permettra à tous de pouvoir recevoir l'enseignement. Certains donneront moins que la valeur réelle des frais engendrés par l'organisation du cours, d'autres donneront plus, tout le monde pourra participer, espérons donc que ce fonctionnement me permette de continuer à cheminer dans cette direction pour le bénéfice de tous.

J'ouvre donc ce nouveau mode de fonctionnement à compter de 2022, de manière progressive sur toutes les activités hormis celles dont les prix de vente me sont imposés comme c'est le cas pour les formations de professeurs.

A vous retrouver ou vous revoir bientôt,

Valérie

Les formations de professeurs sont données à partir de 1 personne. Kathy et Mickael viennent d’entrer dans la formation en ligne de professeur de Lu Jong 1 ayant lieu sur Fevrier - Mars 2024, il est encore temps de vous inscrire. Infos ici.
Vénérable Oser et Hervé démarrent leur formation de professeurs de Tog Chöd ce mois de mars avec la Théorie et viendront faire leur stage pratique à Chamonix fin juin 2024. Johnathan finalisera son deuxième stage pratique de professeur de Ton Chöd également fin juin à Chamonix. Pour intégrer cette formation, c'est par ici

Les 3 premiers jours du stage pratique de la formation de Tog ChOd sont proposés à tous dans le cadre d'un stage Découverte, et si cela vous plait, vous pourrez rejoindre par la suite la formation de Tog Chöd ! Durant ces 3 jours, nous ferons du Tog Chod et vous découvrirez aussi le Lu Jong ! Infos ici 

Enfin, nous serons en Thailande et en Indonésie de début avril à mi juin donc possibilité de faire le module B de la formation Lu Jong ou Tog Chod directement sur place ! Nous serons sur le Népal début Novembre 2024, et sur l'Ile de la Réunion en Janvier 2025. Et last minute... le voyage Kora du Kailash aura lieu mi 2026 (le précédent était en 2018...), réservé aux anciens élèves et participants d'au moins un voyage avec nous ! contactez nous pour les informations !

bottom of page